Here is another unseen poetry practice for you all. As many comments as possible please. Before you write, ensure that you’ve read what others have to say so that you can build and develop the responses.

 

The Right Word

 

Outside the door,

lurking in the shadows,

is a terrorist.

 

Is that the wrong description?

Outside that door,

taking shelter in the shadows,

is a freedom-fighter.

 

I haven’t got this right.

Outside, waiting in the shadows,

is a hostile militant.

 

Are words no more

than waving, wavering flags?

Outside your door,

watchful in the shadows,

is a guerrilla warrior.

 

God help me.

Outside, defying every shadow,

stands a martyr.

I saw his face.

 

No words can help me now.

Just outside the door,

lost in shadows,

is a child who looks like mine.

 

One word for you.

Outside my door,

his hand too steady,

his eyes too hard

is a boy who looks like your son, too.

 

I open the door.

Come in, I say.

Come in and eat with us.

 

The child steps in

and carefully, at my door,

takes off his shoes.

 

IMTIAZ DHARKER


